Why do I have duplicate contacts on my Android phone?

Sometimes your phone creates two or more than two copies of a single contact. This mostly happens when you factory reset a device and sync contacts or change SIM and accidentally sync all contacts. This can completely clutter the contacts, making it hard to navigate through contacts.

Merge duplicates

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open the Contacts app .
  2. At the top left, tap Menu Suggestions.
  3. Tap Clean up duplicates. If you don’t see this, you don’t have any contacts that can be merged. …
  4. Optional: If you’d rather choose which contacts to merge: Open your device’s Contacts app .

This usually happens when you have your phone set to show all contacts in the contacts manager app and you also have the phone set to sync contacts across accounts. … You may or may not be able to do this as it will depend on what phone and what Android it is running.

Most probable chance is that you are logged in to a google account in your phone. … Both of he phones has turned on the automatic contact sync. This is one of the amazing feature in Android, so when you lose your phone at-least you don’t lose your connections. Change the settings, check it in accounts and sync.

How to delete contacts on an Android phone

  1. Open the Contacts app. Tap and hold your finger down on any contact that you want to delete, so it’s selected without opening its page.
  2. Scroll through your contacts and tap every contact listing that you want to delete. …
  3. Tap “Delete” in the top-right corner.

This video will show you how to merge and remove duplicates on your Android device to help you clean up your phone! Duplicate contacts are really common, and they happen when you’re syncing contacts from multiple sources like the cloud, your email, or social media sites.

On the Contacts screen, you can manually go through your entire Contact list and select duplicate Contacts. 4. After duplicate Contacts are selected, click on 3-dots menu icon and select the Delete option in the drop-down menu.

How do I stop my phone from syncing with my contacts?

Sync Google Contacts with your mobile device or computer

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open your Settings.
  2. Tap Google Account services Google Contacts sync Status.
  3. Turn off Automatically sync.

The reason for linking contacts is because some contacts come from sources where they cannot be altered on your computer. For instance, if you sync your contacts to Facebook, only the person who owns the Facebook account can change their contact information.

To do that, go to Settings > Accounts > Google and then enable “Sync Contacts”. On the destination device, add the same Google account and then go to Settings > Account >Google and then select “Contacts” from the Google Backups list. Tap on “Sync Now” and the contacts will be transferred to the destination device.

See your contacts

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open the Contacts app .
  2. At the top left, tap Menu . See contacts by label: Choose a label from the list. See contacts for another account: Tap Down arrow. pick an account. See the contacts for all your accounts: Choose All contacts.

If you’re on Android platform,The google account you used to sign in on your device could take backup of your contacts frequently from your phone…if the same account is used in another phone like( your husband’s one )probably backed up contacts are going to visible on his phone too..

If you’re using an Android-based device, you can just tap and hold on a contact to enter selection mode. From there, you can select as many contacts as you want, then press the Delete button to remove them all at once.

Fix: Unable to Open Contacts on Android Phone

  1. Restart Your Phone. The first recommended troubleshooting method for most problems on computer and smartphones is to restart the device. …
  2. Clear Contacts App Cache. …
  3. Check Permissions for Contacts App. …
  4. Reset App Preferences. …
  5. Start Device in Safe Mode. …
  6. Uninstall Third Party App. …
  7. Reset All Settings. …
  8. Factory Reset.

Leave a Comment